601 W. Houston St.
Abbott, TX 76621
(254) 582-3092     Fax: (254) 582-0613
Cell: (254) 707-0624
Parish Website: Email:

MAY 18, 2014


Parochial Administrator-Fr.Ouseph I Thekkumthala (Cell) 707-0624

Business Manager/Secretary-Agnes Timmons 580-8125

Deacon- John Lauhoff

Deacon- Denver Crawley

Pastoral Council Facilitator-Ronda Ballew

Finance Council- Charles Beseda

KJT- Eugene Maroul

KJZT- Jeanette Urbanovsky                                 

Knights of Columbus- Ernie Pustejovsky

Sacristans- Michael & Janet Bezdek

Music Ministry- Karen Bartosh & Marsha Gerik

Religious Education- Traci Pustejovsky

Youth Ministry – Annette Ballew & Carolyn Kirby

Plant Manager- Charles Beseda749-7718

Seniors Activities Coordinator- Agnes Marak

Volunteer Coordinator- Marsha Gerik

Safe Environment Coordinator- Terry & Patrick Timmons


Saturday Vigil Mass – 6:00 p.m.
     Sunday – 8:00 a.m.


Monday & Wednesday – 6:30 p.m.

     Saturday – 7:00 p.m.

 SATURDAY     MAY 17:        6:00 pm:     Dennis Gerik by Linda Gerik

SUNDAY         MAY 18:       8:00 am:    Parishioners

SATURDAY     MAY 24:      6:00 pm:   +Benny & Frankie Gerik by Doris Nesrsta

SUNDAY          MAY 25:        8:00 am:     Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

 CEMETERY LIGHTS: Charlie & Larry Pavlas by Lil Pavlas & Family




ALTAR SERVERS: Lauren & Kyle Gerik

LECTOR: Terry Timmons

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Albert Srubar, John Jimenez, Agnes Timmons

USHERS: John Gerik


ALTAR SERVERS: First Holy Communion

LECTOR: First Holy Communion


USHERS: Phil Pustejovsky


ALTAR SERVERS: Matthew & Kolby Padgett

LECTOR: Susan Kallus

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Mark & Cindy Psencik, Linda Gerik

USHERS: Kevin Beene


ALTAR SERVERS: Allison & Madison Murphy

LECTOR: Kathy Pustejovsky

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Frank & Jeanette Urbanovsky, Ron Kaska

USHERS: Charles Beseda

 WELCOME: We welcome to Mass this weekend our Celebrant, Father John Robert Skeldon. Welcome to Abbott, Father Skeldon, and thank you for providing us with the sacraments of the Church.

 THANK YOU: Thank you for your generous support to the Seminarian Formation Fund from last weekend’s second collection.

THIS WEEKEND: Our BBQ dinner with raffle will be held on Sunday, May 18th. The meal includes BBQ beef, sausage, potatoes, cole slaw, pinto beans, dessert, and tea. Parishioners whose last name begins with A – M are asked to please furnish a dessert for the meal. Adult plates and Plates to go are $8.00 and children plates under 12 are $6.00. Raffle tickets are available at the entrances of the church, please take several books. Prices are $1.00 each or 6 for $5.00.

 INTENTIONS NEEDED: We are in need of intentions for Sanctuary, Cross, and Cemetery Lights. Please place your intention and donation in a specially marked envelope and place in the collection basket.

SYMPATHY: Please remember in your prayers the soul and family of Mr. Paul Grmela who went to his eternal rest, Saturday, May 10th. Eternal rest grant unto him, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon him. May his soul and the souls of all the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen

 FIRST HOLY COMMUNION: Next Sunday, May 25th, our parish will celebrate with three young parishioners as they receive their First Holy Communion. The KJZT will be hosting the First Communion Breakfast immediately after Mass.  Everyone is invited and encouraged to join the First Communicants and their families for breakfast to help them celebrate this special occasion.

 PASTORAL COUNCIL NOMINATIONS: Parishioners will have the opportunity over the next two weekends to nominate individuals or themselves as a candidate to fill one of three positions on the Pastoral Council. Prayerfully consider who would lead our parish at this time and then write the name or names (there is no limit) on a slip of paper and place in the collection basket by Sunday, June 1st. Members of the Finance Council are unable to serve on both councils, therefore do not nominate Charles Beseda, Gordon Grubbs, Annette Ballew, or Lucy Pustejovsky. There are three members who have finished their terms on the Pastoral Council that are not eligible to serve for one year. They include Ronda Ballew, Kevin Beene, and Kathleen Pustejovsky. Finally, please do not nominate any current members of the Pastoral Council members: Katie Kaska, Joyce Lenart, Cheryl Schulz, Johnny Krenek, Mike Bezdek, and Frank Urbanovsky.

PRAYERS FOR THE SICK: Please remember to keep these individuals in your prayers: Bruce Malaer, Terry Kramolis, Evelyn Soukup, Susan Tomczak, Mark Helona, Mary Ann Pavlas, Stephanie Jarvis, Louise Pappas Woolsey, Eugene Pustejovsky, Doris Nesrsta, Willie Mae Pustejovsky, Johnnie Sinkule, Leo Rejcek, Joe Helona, Patsy Makovy, Clara Kaska, Lisa Cole, Jeanette Urbanovsky, Rosilee Bartosh, Felix Picha, Louise Ondrej, Marcella & Michael Kiely, Pat Jimenez, Raymond Zapletal, Donna Nelson, Jane Boley, Tom Pezanosky, Matthew Machac, Edwin Gerik, Bonnie Poole, Edward Rejcek, Rudolph Rejcek, Lillian Sodek, Jane Vallejo, Max Vallejo, Linda Pustejovsky, Domingo Balderas, Edward Muehlstein, Fr. Jerry Ryan, O.S.A., Judy Steele, Harry Gene Nors, Tommy Pustejovsky, Francy Stacha, Jimmy Tolbert, Jeff Bernsen, Margie Wolf, Alexis Enriquez, Baylee Owen, Rocky Steele, Beth Pezanosky, Diana Austin, Monsignor Frank Miller, Deacon John Lauhoff, George Kaska, Jr., Tony Keller, Cindy Bruce Zatopek, Liam Willie, Bernice Beene, Bobby Tlustos, Cathy Sulak, Della Allen, Megan Janek, Jeanne Nicholson, Jamie Beauchamp, Wanda Pustejovsky, Turner Hennig, Janet Krueger, Harvey Janek, Opal Davidson, Armand Jimenez, James Homel Ginger Kutscherousky, and Ann Vanek.