601 W. Houston St.

Abbott, TX  76621
(254) 582-3092

 Cell: (254) 707-0624

Parish Website:

Parish Email:


APRIL 10, 2016



 Parochial Administrator-Fr.Ouseph I Thekkumthala (Cell) 254-707-0624

Business Manager/Secretary-Agnes Timmons 254-580-8125

Deacon- John Lauhoff    

Deacon- Denver Crawley

Pastoral Council Facilitator-Gary Pustejovsky     

Finance Council- Charles Beseda

KJT- Eugene Maroul     

KJZT- Jeanette Urbanovsky                                 

Knights of Columbus- Ernie Pustejovsky

Sacristans- Michael & Janet Bezdek

Music Ministry- Karen Bartosh & Marsha Gerik

Religious Education- Traci Pustejovsky

Youth Ministry – Annette Ballew & Carolyn Kirby

Plant Manager- Charles Beseda 254-749-7718

Seniors Activities Coordinator- Agnes Marak

Volunteer Coordinator- Marsha Gerik

Safe Environment Coordinator- Terry & Patrick Timmons


Saturday Vigil Mass – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday – 8:00 a.m.


Monday & Wednesday – 6:30 p.m.

APRIL 10, 2016


SATURDAY      APRIL      9:   6:00 pm:   +Irene & Mary Jane Gerik by Doris Nesrsta

SUNDAY            APRIL    10:   8:00 am:     Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

MONDAY          APRIL    11:   6:00 pm:  +Clara Kaska by Martha Beseda

WEDNESDAY  APRIL    13:   6:00 pm:   +Henry, Christine, & Bill Beseda by Charles & DJ Beseda

SATURDAY      APRIL    16:   6:00 pm:   +Nancy Kasberg  

SUNDAY            APRIL    17:   8:00 am:     Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

CEMETERY LIGHTS: Charlie & Larry Pavlas by Lil Pavlas & Family

CROSS LIGHTS: Bill Beseda by Gary & Joycie Pustejovsky

SANCTUARY LIGHTS: Henry, Christine, & Bill Beseda by Charles & DJ Beseda


ALTAR SERVERS: Matthew & Kolby Padgett

LECTORS: Susan Kallus

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Mark & Cindy Psencik, John Gerik

USHER: Brad Padgett


ALTAR SERVERS: Payton & Preston Pustejovsky

LECTOR: Kathy Pustejovsky

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Frank & Jeanette Urbanovsky, Ron Kaska

USHER: Phil Pustejovsky    


ALTAR SERVERS: Natalie Kaska, Mariann Pustejovsky

LECTORS: Patrick Timmons

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Terry & Agnes Timmons, Albert Srubar

USHER: Kevin Beene


ALTAR SERVERS: First Communion

LECTOR: First Communion


USHER: First Communion  

BISHOP OLSON: Bishop Michael Olson will celebrate Mass here at our parish tomorrow evening, April 11th at 6:00 p.m.

SPECIAL COLLECTION: On April 16-17, 2016, the Diocese of Fort Worth will celebrate Good Shepherd Sunday in support our seminarians. There are currently 31 seminarians from 19 parishes of the diocese studying in six seminaries throughout the United States and in Rome.

The Diocese of Fort Worth provides education and formation for each seminarian at an annual average cost of $52,092.  The Good Shepherd Sunday Special Collection assists with funding this annual cost. In addition to the Sunday collection, donations are being accepted online at  Please give generously.

KJZT JUNIORS: The next meeting of the KJZT Juniors will be Sunday morning, April 10, at 9:00 am in the Smid Center.

CDA MEETING: CDA Court #2143 is meeting Wednesday, April 13 at 6:00p.m. in the Parish Hall at Our Lady of Mercy. All ladies of the parish are invited to attend. Refreshments will be served following the meeting.

CHOIR PRACTICE: There will be Choir practice after Mass on Wednesday, April 20th.

PRAYERS FOR THE SICK: Please remember to keep these individuals in your prayers:

Terry Kramolis, Evelyn Soukup, Susan Tomczak, Mark Helona, Mary Ann Pavlas, Stephanie Jarvis, Louise Pappas Woolsey, Eugene Pustejovsky, Johnnie Sinkule,  Joe Helona, Patsy Makovy, Lisa Cole,  Jeanette Urbanovsky, Rosilee Bartosh, Felix Picha, Louise Ondrej, Marcella & Michael Kiely, Pat Jimenez, Donna Nelson, Matthew Machac, Bonnie Poole, Rudolph Rejcek, Lillian Sodek, Jane Vallejo, Max Vallejo, Linda Pustejovsky, Domingo Balderas, Edward Muehlstein, Judy Steele,  Harry Gene Nors, Tommy Pustejovsky, Jimmy Tolbert, Jeff Bernsen, Margie Wolf, Alexis Enriquez, Baylee Owen, Rocky Steele, Beth Pezanosky, Diana Austin, Monsignor Frank Miller, Deacon John Lauhoff, Tony Keller, Bernice Beene, Bobby Tlustos, Cathy Sulak, Megan Janek, Jeanne Nicholson, Jamie Beauchamp, Wanda Pustejovsky, Janet Krueger, Harvey Janek, Opal Davidson, Armand Jimenez, James Homel, Ann Vanek, Mark Kutscherousky, Jim Kornegay, Charlie Flaherty, Willie Joe Janek, Darren Boyse, Raymond Jaska, Sara Casey, Deacon Denver Crawley, Deanell Crawley, Ed Sykora, Doris Nesrsta, Martha Beseda, Angela Kleb, David Sinkule, Lucy Garza, Hannah Hildebrand, Larry Podsednik, Kenneth Kubala, Cooper and Brooklyn Downing.

FUNDRAISER:  The History of West Museum will hold its 4th Annual Spring Fundraiser at the West Knights of Columbus Hall on Sunday, April 10. Serving of fried chicken, sausage, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, slaw, dessert and tea will begin at 11:00 a.m. Cost is $10; eat-in and to-go plates will be available. A live auction will begin at noon; there will also be a silent auction and raffle.

SCHOLARSHIPS: The Hillsboro Catholic Daughters are offering a $500 scholarship. Any graduating senior planning to attend college that is a member of Our Lady of Mercy or Immaculate Heart of Mary are eligible to apply for this scholarship.  Instructions and applications are available on the website,, Our Lady of Mercy parish office, or by contacting Helen Mach, scholarship chairman at 254-582-3932. Applications should be returned to Helen Mach no later than April 20th.

GRIEF SUPPORT: A grief support group meeting will be held 7:00 p.m. Thursday evening, April 14th at St. Joseph’s Hall next to St. Mary’s Catholic Church.  This is a support group for those in the community who want to gain a better understanding of all the changes experienced in the grief process.