601 W. Houston St.

Abbott, TX  76621
(254) 582-3092

 Cell: (254) 707-0624

Parish Website:

Parish Email:


MARCH 13, 2016




 Parochial Administrator-Fr.Ouseph I Thekkumthala (Cell) 254-707-0624

Business Manager/Secretary-Agnes Timmons 254-580-8125

Deacon- John Lauhoff    

Deacon- Denver Crawley

Pastoral Council Facilitator-Gary Pustejovsky     

Finance Council- Charles Beseda

KJT- Eugene Maroul     

KJZT- Jeanette Urbanovsky                                 

Knights of Columbus- Ernie Pustejovsky

Sacristans- Michael & Janet Bezdek

Music Ministry- Karen Bartosh & Marsha Gerik

Religious Education- Traci Pustejovsky

Youth Ministry – Annette Ballew & Carolyn Kirby

Plant Manager- Charles Beseda 254-749-7718

Seniors Activities Coordinator- Agnes Marak

Volunteer Coordinator- Marsha Gerik

Safe Environment Coordinator- Terry & Patrick Timmons

Saturday Vigil Mass – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday – 8:00 a.m.

Monday & Wednesday – 6:30 p.m.


SATURDAY      MARCH  12:    6:00 pm:   +Nancy Kasberg by Mark & Cindy Psencik

SUNDAY            MARCH  13:    8:00 am:     Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

MONDAY          MARCH  14:    6:00 pm:   +James Nors by Robert & Marie Nors

WEDNESDAY  MARCH  16:    6:00 pm:   +Charlie Pavlas by Lil Pavlas & Family

SATURDAY      MARCH  19:    6:00 pm:   +Felix Rejcek by Edward Rejcek Family

SUNDAY            MARCH  20:    8:00 am:     Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

CEMETERY LIGHTS: Charlie & Larry Pavlas by Lil Pavlas Family

CROSS LIGHTS: Henry, Christine, & Bill Beseda by Charles & DJ Beseda

SANCTUARY LIGHTS: Henry, Christine, & Bill Beseda by Charles & DJ Beseda


ALTAR SERVERS: Lauren & Kyle Gerik

LECTORS: John Gerik

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: John Gerik, John Jimenez, Albert Srubar

USHER: Ben Pustejovsky


ALTAR SERVERS: Mallory Ballew, Christopher Pustejovsky

LECTOR: Annette Ballew

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Roger & Debbie Pustejovsky, Beverly Pustejovsky

USHER: Doug Pustejovsky


ALTAR SERVERS: Natalie Kaska, Mariann Pustejovsky

LECTOR: Joyce Lenart

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Terry & Agnes Timmons, Andy Pustejovsky

USHER: John Blaha


ALTAR SERVERS: Matthew & Kolby Padgett

LECTORS: Patrick Timmons

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Mark & Cindy Psencik, Albert Srubar

USHER: Kevin Beene


ALTAR SERVERS: Payton & Preston Pustejovsky

LECTOR: Kathy Pustejovsky

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS:  Frank & Jeanette Urbanovsky, Ron Kaska

USHER: Charles Beseda

TIME CHANGE: Daylight Saving Time begins at 2:00 AM on Sunday, March 13th. Don’t forget to set your clock ahead one hour.

THANK YOU: Many thanks for your generosity towards our second collection last weekend for Catholic Relief Services.  It will help provide food to the hungry, support to displaced refugees, and Christ’s love and respect to all people. Please give generously to the Catholic Relief Services Collection and help Jesus in disguise.

LENTEN CONFESSIONS:Abbott – March 14, 6:30 pm Father Stephen Nesrsta will be helping Father Ouseph with Confessions in Abbott.

STATIONS OF THE CROSS: Our parish will have Stations of the Cross at 6:30 p.m., on Fridays  during Lent. In the past, they have been led by parish organizations or CCD classes. If any group wishes to lead the stations on one of the evenings, please contact Agnes Timmons.

EASTER FLOWERS: This weekend, March 12th – 13th is the last opportunity to pre-order Easter lilies. Envelopes are located at the entrances of the church. The cost of each plant is $8.35 and can be paid for with either cash or by check. Please make the check payable to Wolfe Wholesale Florist and then place it in the collection basket.

COUNCIL MEETINGS: The Finance Council  will meet on Monday, March 14th, at 6:30 p.m. in the Parish Hall.  The Pastoral Council will meet immediately after, at 7:30 p.m. in the Parish Hall.

CCD NEWS: There will not be CCD classes on Wednesday due to Spring Break.

MINISTER SCHEDULES: This is the last weekend to make changes to the minister schedules.  Please write changes on the information sheet located on the back table and then place it in the collection basket.

RICE BOWL: This week’s CRS Rice Bowl country is the island nation of Madagascar, where we’re reminded of the important role farmers play in caring for God’s creation.  As we prepare our meals throughout the week, let us reflect on where our food comes from – and what role we can play in caring for our environment. Rice Bowls will be turned on Easter Sunday.

KJZT DISTRICT NEWS: The Ennis KJZT Society will host the district KJZT meeting on Sunday, April 3, at the KJT Auditorium Dining Room, 1216 S. Paris Street, Ennis Texas.  Registration will begin at 11:00 AM with lunch at noon and a meeting to follow at 1:00 PM.  If you would like to attend please let our local society know by calling Jeanette Urbanovsky (694-3932) or Kathy Pustejovsky (582-3024) by Tuesday, March 22.  The local Junior Society will attend and their count for attending will be given to Molly Gerik.

 GRIEF SUPPORT: A grief support group meeting will be held 7:00 p.m. Thursday evening,  March 17th at St. Joseph’s Hall next to St. Mary’s Catholic Church.  This is a support group for those in the community who want to gain a better understanding of all the changes experienced in the grief process.

PRAYERS FOR THE SICK: Please remember to keep these individuals in your prayers:  Terry Kramolis, Evelyn Soukup, Susan Tomczak, Mark Helona, Mary Ann Pavlas, Stephanie Jarvis, Louise Pappas Woolsey, Eugene Pustejovsky, Johnnie Sinkule,  Joe Helona, Patsy Makovy, Lisa Cole,  Jeanette Urbanovsky, Rosilee Bartosh, Felix Picha, Louise Ondrej, Marcella & Michael Kiely, Pat Jimenez, Donna Nelson, Matthew Machac, Bonnie Poole, Rudolph Rejcek, Lillian Sodek, Jane Vallejo, Max Vallejo, Linda Pustejovsky, Domingo Balderas, Edward Muehlstein, Judy Steele,  Harry Gene Nors, Tommy Pustejovsky, Jimmy Tolbert, Jeff Bernsen, Margie Wolf, Alexis Enriquez, Baylee Owen, Rocky Steele, Beth Pezanosky, Diana Austin, Monsignor Frank Miller, Deacon John Lauhoff, Tony Keller, Bernice Beene, Bobby Tlustos, Cathy Sulak, Megan Janek, Jeanne Nicholson, Jamie Beauchamp, Wanda Pustejovsky, Janet Krueger, Harvey Janek, Opal Davidson, Armand Jimenez, James Homel, Ann Vanek, Mark Kutscherousky, Jim Kornegay, Charlie Flaherty, Willie Joe Janek, Darren Boyse, Raymond Jaska, Sara Casey, Deacon Denver Crawley, Deanell Crawley, Ed Sykora, Doris Nesrsta, Martha Beseda, Angela Kleb, David Sinkule, Lucy Garza, Hannah Hildebrand, Larry Podsednik, and Kenneth Kubala.


Thursday, March 24. 7:00 pm, Thursday of the Lord’s Supper at the Evening Mass, Abbott; 6:30 pm, Hillsboro

Friday, March 25, 7:00 pm, Friday of the Passion of the Lord. Penelope

Friday, March 25, 7:00 pm, Stations of the Cross. Abbott; 6:00pm, Hillsboro

Saturday, March 26, 8:30 pm, The Easter Vigil in the Holy Night. Abbott; 7:30 pm, Hillsboro

KJZT JUNIORS: The KJZT Juniors will lead Stations of the Cross on Good Friday, March 25 at 7 pm.  After Stations, the juniors will lead the rosary.  Juniors need to wear their turquoise t-shirts and meet in the back of church at 6:45 pm.

THANK YOU: The Knights of Columbus with to thank everyone for your generous support of their Fish Fry. A total of $1,343 will help the knights make contributions to their various charities.