601 W. Houston St.
Abbott, TX 76621
(254) 582-3092     Fax: (254) 582-0613
Cell: (254) 707-0624
Parish Website:

MAY 25, 2014



Parochial Administrator-Fr.Ouseph I Thekkumthala (Cell) 707-0624

Business Manager/Secretary-Agnes Timmons 580-8125

Deacon- John Lauhoff

Deacon- Denver Crawley

Pastoral Council Facilitator-Ronda Ballew

Finance Council- Charles Beseda

KJT- Eugene Maroul

KJZT- Jeanette Urbanovsky                                 

Knights of Columbus- Ernie Pustejovsky

Sacristans- Michael & Janet Bezdek

Music Ministry- Karen Bartosh & Marsha Gerik

Religious Education- Traci Pustejovsky

Youth Ministry – Annette Ballew & Carolyn Kirby

Plant Manager- Charles Beseda749-7718

Seniors Activities Coordinator- Agnes Marak

Volunteer Coordinator- Marsha Gerik

Safe Environment Coordinator- Terry & Patrick Timmons


Saturday Vigil Mass – 6:00 p.m.
     Sunday – 8:00 a.m.


Monday & Wednesday – 6:30 p.m.

     Saturday – 7:00 p.m.

MAY 25, 2014


SATURDAY       MAY 24:   6:00 pm:   +Benny & Frankie Gerik by Doris Nesrsta

SUNDAY          MAY 25:     8:00 am:     Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

MONDAY         MAY 26:     6:00 pm:   +Nancy Kasberg by Martha Beseda

WEDNESDAY MAY 28:     6:00 pm:     Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

SATURDAY     MAY 31:    6:00 pm:      Rev. Jerry Ryan, OSA (Improved Health) by Martha Gerik

SUNDAY         JUNE 1:     8:00 am:  +Henry, Christine, & Bill Beseda by Charles & DJ Beseda

CEMETERY LIGHTS: Dennis Gerik by Linda Gerik


SANCTUARY LIGHTS: Tommy Pustejovsky by Eugene & Kathy Pustejovsky


ALTAR SERVERS: Matthew & Kolby Padgett

LECTOR: Susan Kallus

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Mark & Cindy Psencik, Linda Gerik

USHERS: Kevin Beene


ALTAR SERVERS: Allison & Madison Murphy

LECTOR: Kathy Pustejovsky

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Frank & Jeanette Urbanovsky, Ron Kaska

USHERS: Charles Beseda


ALTAR SERVERS: Lauren & Kyle Gerik

LECTOR: John Gerik

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Terry & Agnes Timmons, John Gerik

USHERS: John Blaha


ALTAR SERVERS: Keaton Pustejovsky & Christopher Pustejovsky

LECTOR: Gary Pustejovsky

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Roger & Debbie Pustejovsky, Joycie Pustejovsky

USHERS: Doug Pustejovsky

CONGRATULATIONS: Congratulations to the second grade CCD class on receiving the sacrament of First Holy Communion this weekend! The First Communicants are Mariann Pustejovsky, Ashlynn Ramirez, and Ryan Skidmore. To the First Communicants, may the Holy Spirit continue to work through you in growing and in sharing your Catholic faith, and may you continue to feel the “wholeness” that you feel today in receiving Jesus at every Mass.

 THANK YOU: Many, many thanks to all those individuals who helped in any way with the BBQ Dinner and Raffle last Sunday. Thanks especially to Ryan Kaska and to all the other volunteers, including those who cooked and served the meal, collected prizes and ran the raffle, all the individuals who provided the wonderful desserts and last but not least, all those who came out and supported the fundraiser by purchasing the meal and raffle tickets. The winners of the raffle prizes are as follows: Necklace/Ring – Matthew Polansky; Last Supper Wall Hanging – Phil Pustejovsky; Zoo/Pizza/Ice Cream Package – Payton Pustejovsky; Walmart Gift Card – Ron Kaska; Vatican Collection Figurine – Ronnie Marak; Texas Roadhouse Gift Card/Wooden Cross – Mary Jane Sustala; 4 Dinners to Still Smokin’ BBQ – Milton Flaherty; Still Smokin’ Gift Card – Marsha Gerik; Wreath – Frances Soukup. Congratulations to all the winners.

FATHER’S DAY FLOWERS: Donations are now being accepted for Father’s Day flowers. To honor or remember a special man in your life, put your intentions, along with your donation in an envelope marked “Father’s Day Flowers” and drop in the collection basket. Donations need to be in by June 8th.

 INTENTIONS NEEDED: We are in need of intentions for Sanctuary, Cross, and Cemetery Lights. Please place your intention and donation in a specially marked envelope and place in the collection basket.

 PASTORAL COUNCIL NOMINATIONS: Parishioners will have the opportunity over the next two weekends to nominate individuals or themselves as a candidate to fill one of three positions on the Pastoral Council. Prayerfully consider who would lead our parish at this time and then write the name or names (there is no limit) on a slip of paper and place in the collection basket by Sunday, June 1st. Members of the Finance Council are unable to serve on both councils, therefore do not nominate Charles Beseda, Gordon Grubbs, Annette Ballew, or Lucy Pustejovsky. There are three members who have finished their terms on the Pastoral Council that are not eligible to serve for one year. They include Ronda Ballew, Kevin Beene, and Kathleen Pustejovsky. Finally, please do not nominate any current members of the Pastoral Council members: Katie Kaska, Joyce Lenart, Cheryl Schulz, Johnny Krenek, Mike Bezdek, and Frank Urbanovsky.

 SECOND COLLECTION: Next week our parish will take up the Collection for the Catholic Communication Campaign (CCC). This Collection communicates the Gospel through Catholic social media activities and enriches our faith through Internet, television, radio, and print media. Half of all proceeds remain in our diocese and support local needs, so please be generous in this collection. CCC equips us to share our experience of faith, worship, and witness with the world.

 LUNCHEON: The Catholic Daughters #829 from West are hosting a Taste of West Luncheon on Tuesday, June 10th. Please see the poster on the back bulletin board for more details.

PRAYERS FOR THE SICK: Please remember to keep these individuals in your prayers: Bruce Malaer, Terry Kramolis, Evelyn Soukup, Susan Tomczak, Mark Helona, Mary Ann Pavlas, Stephanie Jarvis, Louise Pappas Woolsey, Eugene Pustejovsky, Doris Nesrsta, Willie Mae Pustejovsky, Johnnie Sinkule, Leo Rejcek, Joe Helona, Patsy Makovy, Clara Kaska, Lisa Cole, Jeanette Urbanovsky, Rosilee Bartosh, Felix Picha, Louise Ondrej, Marcella & Michael Kiely, Pat Jimenez, Raymond Zapletal, Donna Nelson, Jane Boley, Tom Pezanosky, Matthew Machac, Edwin Gerik, Bonnie Poole, Edward Rejcek, Rudolph Rejcek, Lillian Sodek, Jane Vallejo, Max Vallejo, Linda Pustejovsky, Domingo Balderas, Edward Muehlstein, Fr. Jerry Ryan, O.S.A., Judy Steele, Harry Gene Nors, Tommy Pustejovsky, Francy Stacha, Jimmy Tolbert, Jeff Bernsen, Margie Wolf, Alexis Enriquez, Baylee Owen, Rocky Steele, Beth Pezanosky, Diana Austin, Monsignor Frank Miller, Deacon John Lauhoff, George Kaska, Jr., Tony Keller, Cindy Bruce Zatopek, Liam Willie, Bernice Beene, Bobby Tlustos, Cathy Sulak, Della Allen, Megan Janek, Jeanne Nicholson, Jamie Beauchamp, Wanda Pustejovsky, Turner Hennig, Janet Krueger, Harvey Janek, Opal Davidson, Armand Jimenez, James Homel Ginger Kutscherousky, and Ann Vanek.