601 W. Houston St.

Abbott, TX  76621
(254) 582-3092

 Cell: (254) 707-0624

Parish Website:

Parish Email:


MAY 8, 2016




 Parochial Administrator-Fr.Ouseph I Thekkumthala (Cell) 254-707-0624

Business Manager/Secretary-Agnes Timmons 254-580-8125

Deacon- John Lauhoff    

Deacon- Denver Crawley

Pastoral Council Facilitator-Gary Pustejovsky     

Finance Council- Charles Beseda

KJT- Eugene Maroul     

KJZT- Jeanette Urbanovsky                                 

Knights of Columbus- Ernie Pustejovsky

Sacristans- Michael & Janet Bezdek

Music Ministry- Karen Bartosh & Marsha Gerik

Religious Education- Traci Pustejovsky

Youth Ministry – Annette Ballew & Carolyn Kirby

Plant Manager- Charles Beseda 254-749-7718

Seniors Activities Coordinator- Agnes Marak

Volunteer Coordinator- Marsha Gerik

Safe Environment Coordinator- Terry & Patrick Timmons


Saturday Vigil Mass – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday – 8:00 a.m.


Monday & Wednesday – 6:30 p.m.

MAY 8, 2016


SATURDAY      MAY        7:   6:00 pm:      Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

SUNDAY            MAY        8:   8:00 am:     All Living & Deceased Mothers by Special Intention

MONDAY          MAY        9:   6:00 pm:   +Dennis Gerik by Linda Gerik

WEDNESDAY  MAY      11:    6:00 pm:   +Henry Pustejovsky by Moon & Martinez Families

SATURDAY      MAY      14:   6:00 pm:    +Bennie & Frankie Gerik by Doris Nesrsta

SUNDAY            MAY      15:   8:00 am:      Parishioners of Immaculate Heart of Mary

CEMETERY LIGHTS: Dennis Gerik by Linda Gerik

CROSS LIGHTS: Bill Beseda by Gary & Joycie Pustejovsky

SANCTUARY LIGHTS: Henry, Christine, & Bill Beseda by Charles & DJ Beseda

SATURDAY- MAY 14       

ALTAR SERVERS: Matthew & Kolby Padgett

LECTORS: Joanie Pustejovsky

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Terry & Agnes Timmons, Andy Pustejovsky

USHER: Brad Padgett

SUNDAY – MAY 15     (This date was accidently omitted from the schedule.)

ALTAR SERVERS: Allison & Madison Murphy

LECTOR: Annette Ballew

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Roger & Debbie Pustejovsky, Beverly Pustejovsky

USHER: Phil Pustejovsky


ALTAR SERVERS: Lauren & Kyle Gerik

LECTORS: John Gerik

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: John Jimenez, Albert Srubar, Terry Timmons

USHER: Kevin Beene


ALTAR SERVERS: Meredith Moore, Katelyn Pustejovsky

LECTOR: Beverly Pustejovsky

EUCHARISTIC MINISTERS: Frank & Jeanette Urbanovsky, Ron Kaska

USHER: Gary Pustejovsky

SECOND COLLECTION: This weekend we will have a second collection for the Catholic Communication Campaign. Half of all proceeds remain in our diocese and support local needs, so please be generous in this collection.

NEW PRIEST ORDINATION: Deacon Joseph Keating will be ordained to the priesthood at St. Patrick’s Cathedral in Fort Worth on Saturday, May 21st at 10:00 a.m. The following is an excerpt from an email from him.  In it, he stated “I’m very much looking forward to meeting all the parishioners in Abbott.  I am finishing up my studies in Rome, and I’ll be coming home to be ordained.  I am very excited and I hope that some folks from IHM can be in attendance at the ordination.” To that end, the parish has tentatively chartered a 33 passenger bus for our parishioners to be able to go. The bus will pick up those who wish to go at IHM Church in Abbott at 10 am and drive straight to the Cathedral.  After the Ordination and reception afterwards, the bus will return back, stopping at a restaurant to be decided in Burleson.  The plan is for all to be returned to IHM Church by 4 pm. The cost will be $10 per person and will be on a first-come, first-served basis.  We have also invited parishioners from Penelope to join us.  If need be, we will get a bigger bus! If you wish to reserve a spot, please call Agnes at 254-580-8125.

BBQ DINNER/RAFFLE: Our BBQ Brisquet & Sausage Dinner with raffle will be held next Sunday, May 15th.  The meal  includes brisquet, sausage, parsley potatoes, cole slaw, pinto beans, dessert, and tea.  Parishioners whose last name begins with A – M are asked to please furnish a dessert for the meal.  Adult plates and Plates to go are $8.00 and children plates  under 12 are $6.00. Raffle tickets are available at the entrances of the church, please take several books. Prices are $1.00 each or 6 for $5.00. Horseshoe Tournament starts at 1:30.

PASTORAL COUNCIL ELECTIONS: Pastoral Council elections will take place next weekend.

THANK YOU: Thank you to all those who donated towards the beautiful flowers which decorated our altar for Mother’s Day.  Please see the separate page for a complete listing of the living and deceased honorees.

THANK YOU: The KJZT juniors would like to thank the parish community for its generous support of the juniors’ summer camp fundraiser last weekend.  It was a great success!  Juniors will continue to sell raffle tickets until camp begins on June 23.  The raffle drawing will take place during camp.

COUNCIL MEETINGS: The Finance Council  will meet on Monday, May 9th, at 6:30 p.m. in the Parish Hall.  The Pastoral Council will meet immediately after, at 7:30 p.m. in the Parish Hall.

CHOIR PRACTICE: There will be Choir practice after Mass on Monday, May 9th . Anyone is welcome to attend. We are always looking for new singers.

PRAYERS FOR THE SICK: Please remember to keep these individuals in your prayers:   Terry Kramolis, Evelyn Soukup, Susan Tomczak, Mark Helona, Mary Ann Pavlas, Stephanie Jarvis, Louise Pappas Woolsey, Eugene Pustejovsky, Johnnie Sinkule,  Joe Helona, Patsy Makovy, Lisa Cole,  Jeanette Urbanovsky, Rosilee Bartosh, Felix Picha, Louise Ondrej, Marcella & Michael Kiely, Pat Jimenez, Donna Nelson, Matthew Machac, Bonnie Poole, Lillian Sodek, Jane Vallejo, Max Vallejo, Linda Pustejovsky, Domingo Balderas, Edward Muehlstein, Rocky Steele,  Judy Steele,  Harry Gene Nors, Tommy Pustejovsky, Jimmy Tolbert, Jeff Bernsen, Margie Wolf, Alexis Enriquez, Baylee Owen,  Beth Pezanosky, Diana Austin, Monsignor Frank Miller, Deacon John Lauhoff, Tony Keller, Bernice Beene, Bobby Tlustos, Cathy Sulak, Megan Janek, Jeanne Nicholson, Jamie Beauchamp, Wanda Pustejovsky, Janet Krueger, Harvey Janek, Opal Davidson, Armand Jimenez, James Homel, Ann Vanek, Mark Kutscherousky, Jim Kornegay, Charlie Flaherty, Willie Joe Janek, Darren Boyse, Raymond Jaska, Sara Casey, Deacon John Lauhoff, Deacon Denver Crawley, Deanell Crawley, Ed Sykora, Doris Nesrsta, Martha Beseda, Angela Kleb, David Sinkule, Lucy Garza, Hannah Hildebrand, Larry Podsednik, Kenneth Kubala, Cooper and Brooklyn Downing, and J. T. Vallon.

With gratitude to Almighty God and in loving memory of our parents and grandparents, Joe & Julia Strittmatter, the brother, sister, nieces, and nephews of Reverend Robert L. (Bobby) Strittmatter
Invite you to join us at the Celebration of his Golden Jubilee, the Fiftieth Anniversary of his Ordination to the Holy Priesthood on Sunday, June 5, 2016Mass of Thanksgiving, 3:30 pm, St. Rita Catholic Church 5550 E. Lancaster Ave., Fort Worth, Texas 76112.  Reception immediately following in the St. Rita Parish Center.  Please RSVP by May 20th by phone to Edward Strittmatter, 817-451-2251 or email:

Join hundreds of single Catholics of all ages at the National Catholic Singles Conference, September 30 – October 2, 2016, held at the Embassy Suites Dallas DFW Airport North in Grapevine. The weekend includes talks by dynamic speakers, music, social events, prayer, food, fellowship, and more! Space is limited so register now! For more information and to register visit (or call 888.267.8885 x4). Use promo code NCSCDFW to receive a special discount!

CATHOLIC DAUGHTERS: The Catholic Daughters will meet Wednesday, May 11, 2016  at 6 pm in the Parish Hall of Our Lady of Mercy Catholic Church.  All ladies of the parish are invited to attend. Refreshments will be served following the meeting.”